Thank God for the Thorns

Life on earth can a roller coaster ride of emotions.  Just as the weather changes here in Texas (it was 85 degrees one day and we had a freeze warning 3 days later, then it’s back up to 75) our emotions can change from one day to the next.  The following is a quote form my sister’s post on Facebook:

Vicki Watrous Zink

I believe happiness is a choices.  Part of being here on earth is learning to live with life’s ups and down…it is a rollercoaster ride at times…but it means you are alive right!! So choose to be happy!!  It is sad to see many Christians who used the “depression”excuse when they have trouble with their life’s events and run to the doctor for pills to “make them feel better”. Don’t expect it to be better when you come down off that pill. It won’t be. Just thank God for the thorn and use it as a leaning tool to grow!

 

 

 

I totally agree with this post and she gave me permission to quote it. Emotions are a way of life.  In life we will always have ups and downs; however, those who trust in the Lord know that “God causes everything to work together for the good of those who love God and are called according to his purpose for them.” Romans 8:28 (New Living Translation) I have to say, I have struggled with depression.  It’s a way of life for us all at one time or another.  Things happen to make us depressed.  However, it’s not bad circumstances that make us depressed. It is the way we respond to bad circumstances.  We need to respond as though we know that God is in control and He knows what he is doing.  We need to get into the word for God said,

“My son, pay attention to what I say, listen closely to my words.  Do not let them out of your sight, keep them close to your heart.  For they are life to those who find them and health to a man’s whole body.  Above all else, guard your heart, for it is the wellspring of life.” Proverbs 4:20 – 23

Did you get that?  God’s word is life.  God’s word is health.  I know that some disease is legitimate and we need doctors and we need medicine.  Perhaps, though, sometimes the prescription should be a good dose of God’s word to lift our spirits, calm our heart, lower our blood pressure, or ease our ulcer.  After all, many times these symptoms are related to our emotions.  So the next time bad circumstances come my way, I’m going to say, “Thank God for the thorn” and ask him what I need to learn from this experience.

This is Terri Byars encouraging you to stay in the word.

Author: Terri Byars

I love to write. I have kept a journal since I was 13 years old. My hobbies are singing, reading, writing poetry, puzzles listening to Christian music, reading the bible. I have been a Christian since 1978. I have been married since 1986 and have two grown children and 4 grandchildren.

1 thought on “Thank God for the Thorns”

  1. I read something today about the person who complained that roses have thorns; she was silenced by the one who said “Thank God thorns have roses!” It’s all perspective. Great post!
    MJ

Leave a Reply

