A New Me by age 53

My husband and I have a big weight loss goal.  My husband, because he has to lose it as a requirement for the National Guard in which he works part-time one weekend a month.  Me, because I am pre-diabetic, and I need to lose weight before it becomes full-blown diabetes.  So we joined Planet Fitness today.  My goal is to lose 50 pounds — again.

I lost weight back in 2010.  I lost 50 pounds from January 1 to April 30.  That is 50 pounds in 4 months.   But with the stress of life and more trials coming my way, I started eating more sweets and put all the weight back on.  I would say I could almost be bulimic because I have gained and lost so many times.  I am over 50 now and really want to stay healthy.  Especially since I am pre-diabetic now.  It seems like that would be a slap in the face and keep me on the right track, but I fell back to food again for comfort.

Food PyramidThis is a nutritionally dense food pyramid.  What that means is that fruits, vegetables and beans have the most nutrition per ounce of food.  Sweets, beef, cheese and milk – they are just for pleasure and taste.  There is not as much nutrition in them.

This is what I plan to eat.  Vegetables and fruits daily.  Whole grains, fish, poultry and eggs 2 or 3 times a week.  I need to be serious about this.  It is my life we are talking about. I want to honor God with my body.  I have tried and thank God, He knows my heart is pure and my intentions are to please Him with my body.  He knows that I have weaknesses and he loves and accepts me anyway.

 

So, this is it.  Day one starts tomorrow.  A new me by age 53 which is March 22, 2013. I will keep blog entries and share my progress, my success and failures with you.  So visit again and read about my new adventure: A new me by 53.

Author: Terri Byars

I love to write. I have kept a journal since I was 13 years old. My hobbies are singing, reading, writing poetry, puzzles listening to Christian music, reading the bible. I have been a Christian since 1978. I have been married since 1986 and have two grown children and 4 grandchildren.

Leave a Reply

