I’M FREE OF CONTROL

It’s very freeing to be out of control.  To be able to say ‘That is not my responsibility’ is very liberating.  God only gives us responsibilities that we can handle.  When we try to take control of what is not our responsibility, that is when we get in trouble.

CAREFREE BABIES

Do you ever notice how babies seem so carefree?  That is because they are.  They have no cares in the world except when they are hungry, tired, or soiled their diapers.  They haven’t learned to take on responsibilities yet, because they don’t know what responsibility is.  I should take their example.

BURDENED LADIES

carry-baggage

Sometimes I carry so much, I am too burdened down to see where I am going, or the beauty around me.  I get discouraged, angry, and depressed, because I think I am the only one who can do it correctly — like I have all the answers.

I end up walking through life with a heavy load of burdens and that is all I can focus on.  Why should I carry everyone else’s luggage?

That isn’t God’s plan for me.

God never gives us too much to carry.  My emotions should never be negative.  If God’s spirit is in me, I should always be full of joy, peace, and love because that is the fruit of the spirit.

LESSON ONE:

The way my adult children act is not my responsibility.  I should never be angry at their behavior, or depressed that they are that way.  I should never take responsibility for their actions.  They are the way they are because they choose to be that way.  I raised them the best I knew how to and the way I believed God taught me, and now the choices they make are theirs to make. I can advise them, but the decision is theirs.

LESSON TWO:

It’s not my responsibility to pick songs for Sunday Morning Service at church.  So, when I hear songs that I don’t care for I shouldn’t get mad, or sad, or depressed because I don’t get my way.  My responsibility is to worship.  So, I listen to the words and praise God the best way I know how.

LESSON THREE:

I can’t ‘fix’ the world.  That is not my responsibility.  I can pray for the lost.  I can pray for the unemployed and the homeless.  But they are not that way because of me.  I cannot become responsible for their actions and try to fix their lives.  Even though it part of my job to help the unemployed get back to work, it is their responsibility to do what we advise them to do in order to become employed.

Thank God, I’m free to be me and only carry what is mine.

“My yoke is easy and my burden is light”  Jesus said. (Matt 11:28)

Author: Terri Byars

I love to write. I have kept a journal since I was 13 years old. My hobbies are singing, reading, writing poetry, puzzles listening to Christian music, reading the bible. I have been a Christian since 1978. I have been married since 1986 and have two grown children and 4 grandchildren.

Leave a Reply

