Citizens of Heaven

citizens of heavenBut our citizenship is in heaven. Philippians 3:20
 
Set your mind on things above, not on earthly things. Colossians 3:2
 
As we, as Christians, live here on earth, we must realize
our citizenship no longer exists here on earth. We are
citizens of Heaven. As we walk, as we encounter difficulties,
as we live here, we can visualize ourselves looking on from
above.I like to look at life as God does. He is up there looking
down at all of us running around and worrying, full of fear,
wringing our hands and pulling out our hair, our ‘hearts failing
us for fear’ Luke 21:26.But He is not up there wringing His hands saying “What am I gonna
do?” He knows the end of the story, like when we watch a movie
for the second time and know how it’s going to end. He knows
we all live happily ever after in a land full of Princes and
Princesses. We are kings and priest, members of a land rich
in love where the Son always shines.
 
When I, in my mind, look at life from God’s perspective, as if I were up there looking down, I feel a bit removed from the difficulties.  I feel light and free because I am floating down the stream of the waters of the Spirit, free of control, free of worry and fear because God is in control. 
 
I am just an instrument in God’s hands, moving when He moves, and walking where He walks, and saying what He tells me what to say.  In John 5:19, 30 and John 7:16, Jesus didn’t to anything, say anything, judge anything on His own choosing.  He only passed on what the Father was doing.
 
So let us walk through life as an ambassador from Heaven here on earth for a visit, representing Jesus Christ and doing only what the Father does through us.  Let go of our circumstances and know that this ‘movie’ has a happy ending.
Author: Terri Byars

I love to write. I have kept a journal since I was 13 years old. My hobbies are singing, reading, writing poetry, puzzles listening to Christian music, reading the bible. I have been a Christian since 1978. I have been married since 1986 and have two grown children and 4 grandchildren.

Leave a Reply

