Abundance is…

Abundance isAbundance is..Watching a sunrise or sunset, reading the first page of a brand new novel, seeing a baby walk to you for the first time, getting a smile from a stranger walking by, feeling a cool breeze on a warm day.

The practice of abundance can change your life.  It changed mine.  It opens the windows to a new look at life.  It opens the mind and heart to beauty, wonder, warmth, and love.

Practicing abundance is another form of positive thinking. “Whatever is true, honest, right, pure, lovely, or good report, if there is any virtue, if anything worthy of praise, think on these things and the God of peace will be with you.” Philippians 4:8.

Beach-SunriseTake a look at the sunrise.  Visit the beach.  Thank God that the car started; find joy in the simple things we take for granted.  A heart beating, a lung breathing, muscles working, air to breath, buds blooming, trees waving in the wind.  These are things everyone can be thankful for.

I find myself thinking of all the woes in the world: poverty, hunger, unemployment, heartache and pain.  Jesus said, “In this world you will have tribulation, but be of good cheer, I have overcome the world.”  I praise God for life.  I praise God for a place to lay my head at night, no matter how small it may be.  I praise God for food on my plate and friends who help put it there.

Stop and notice the flowers next time you walk by a garden or someone’s front yard.  Glance into a store front window and see all the beautiful things and just imagine the joy you could have using them even if you can’t afford to buy them now.  And realize that one of these days, as we enter the Golden Gates of Heaven, everything will be positive.

This is Terri Byars encouraging you to count your blessings

Author: Terri Byars

I love to write. I have kept a journal since I was 13 years old. My hobbies are singing, reading, writing poetry, puzzles listening to Christian music, reading the bible. I have been a Christian since 1978. I have been married since 1986 and have two grown children and 4 grandchildren.

1 thought on “Abundance is…”

Leave a Reply

