Abundance is…All around us

Modern conveniences

Modern ConveniencesRunning water, heat on a cold day, traveling 800 miles in a day.  So often I take the modern conveniences for granted.  Over 100 years ago, many of these things were not even imaginable.  It’s such a joy to be able to call someone if I get a flat tire, right there from my car.  It is great to be able to drive hundreds of miles in a day in order to see family, to have air conditioning in the house, the car, the office or just about anywhere, to have the world at your fingertips when using a computer.

When I arise in the morning, I am going to start thanking God for the little things in life that make modern living abundant life.

Nature

NatureThe beauty of sunsets, the elegance of a rose, the fresh fragrance of rain, the abundant colors of the fall, squirrels scampering across the lawn, the smell of fresh-cut grass. Beauty is all around us.  All we have to do is look,  All we have to do is take time, stop for a moment, open our eyes to the beauty of nature.

Daily, as I drive to work, even in the winter, I am determined to see the beauty around me.

Sounds

Presentation1

“Listen. Can you hear it? The music. I can hear it everywhere.
In the wind…in the air…in the light. It’s all around us.
All you have to do is open yourself up.
All you have to do… is listen.” –August Rush movie

Music, laughter, singing, shouts of children in the street.  Many people in this life will never hear music, they can only feel the vibrations of the sound it makes.  I should never take for granted the sound of music I hear.  I will be thankful every day for my hearing.  The wind blowing through the trees, hearing the words “I love you”.  Birds chirping, dogs barking, trees swaying in the wind, rivers flowing, waves crashing along the shore.  It all comes together to make a symphony of music as nature worships its creator.

Taste and touch

The feeling of a thick carpet beneath your feet, sitting in front of a warm fire in winter, the warmth of a hug, the taste of warm cinnamon rolls on Christmas morning or a cold milk shake on a hot summer day. The security of a cozy blanket or comforter.  All these are just a taste, just a small sample of all the abundance in the world.

Sure, there is a lot of darkness in this world.  But if we remember the warmth, the scents, the beauty, and the sounds that the creator has given us every day, our joy will be so much more abundant.

John 10:10  New King James Version

The thief does not come except to steal, and to kill, and to destroy.  I have come that they (Christians) may have life, and that they may have it more abundantly.          

 

 

 

Author: Terri Byars

I love to write. I have kept a journal since I was 13 years old. My hobbies are singing, reading, writing poetry, puzzles listening to Christian music, reading the bible. I have been a Christian since 1978. I have been married since 1986 and have two grown children and 4 grandchildren.

Leave a Reply

