Christmas Through the Years

As the years roll by, Christmas becomes a lot different.  The first 20 – 25 years of my life, it was increasingly busy, and increasingly crowded.  As the family grew with more children, we all began helping out in the kitchen.  Even my Dad was in there cooking with the rest of us.  He made pumpkin pie from scratch (sometimes using the inside of the pumpkin used the for Halloween jack-o-lantern).  He made giblet dressing from scratch.  Mom cooked several dishes.  We children (I had 4 sisters) helped with setting the table, making the relish tray (pickles, olives, etc.).  We all sat around the table and ate together.  As we grew into teenagers and then young adults there were a few guys added to the table as we invited our boyfriends, fiance, and eventually husbands and children to join us for the holidays.  Then it was my mom, dad, 4 sisters, 2 or three husbands, about 5 children.  It grew to about 15 people.   That was in Tennessee.

A couple of years after we was married, my husband and I moved to Texas with our one year old daughter.  It went down to 3 people:  My husband and I, and our 1-year-old daughter.  Gone were the days of 7 people in the kitchen joining in on the cooking, creating, cleaning.  It all fell on one person:  me!  I still made the big dinner with turkey, ham, dressing, sweet potato casserole, green bean casserole, corn on the cob, and two pies.  That was the usual dinner growing up through the years, so that’s what I made.  Needless to say, it lasted a week.  I was so lonely for the Christmas crowd in the kitchen.

Well, the kids have grown and both my children are working today — one in New York City, the other here in town.  My husband and I are having a quiet day, almost boring day here at the house.  I made ham, corn on the cob, salad (from a bag, lol) and my husband made bacon wrapped jalapeno and li’l smokies in biscuits.  A lot smaller meal, a lot smaller family.  My daughter may come over later and re-heat some of the food for supper.

Christmas has changed throughout the years, but the message is still the same.  One day God sent his one and only son to be born in a stable, in a manger.  A king was born for you and me.  He has come to save us, to heal us, to show us the way to the Father.

happy-birthday-jesus

Praise God for his indescribable gift.

Author: Terri Byars

I love to write. I have kept a journal since I was 13 years old. My hobbies are singing, reading, writing poetry, puzzles listening to Christian music, reading the bible. I have been a Christian since 1978. I have been married since 1986 and have two grown children and 4 grandchildren.

Leave a Reply

