A New Me By 53 – Renewed Determination

Bipolar Eating Disorder

junk-food-junkyFor the past week I’ve been eating holiday foods:  cheesecake, cinnamon rolls, li’l smokies in biscuits, bacon wrapped jalapeno, ham, corn, rice casserole, etc. (notice almost all simple carbs).   Besides all that, I had bought a few bags of candy over the past couple weeks: jelly beans, M & M’s, etc.  Believe it or not, at times, I actually like eating healthy.  It’s almost like I have bipolar eating disorder.  My mind, my intellect, my spirit, or Someone in there tells me to eat healthy.  But my body cries out “CANDY, DONUTS, TWINKIES, ICE CREAM”.  I have read all the different diet books and have all the answers on what is good to eat (which everyone disagrees on by the way:  high carb, low carb, high protein, vegan, eat meat, don’t eat meat, eat potatoes, don’t eat potatoes.)    I have the knowledge, but not the discipline to stick with a good, healthy diet.  Plus emotions always get in the way.

Salad withdrawals

bowl-of-saladToday I finally had a salad.  Part of the reason it had been so long is because of the snow.  I couldn’t get out and travel for a couple of days due to ice on the roads and I ran out of salad.  But when I ate it today it tasted so wonderful that I felt like I had gone through salad withdrawals and I finally gained the vitamins I had been craving for so long.  I also go through soup withdrawals at times.  I make homemade soup a lot with lots of veggies, healthy, low-fat meats and low-salt/no-salt broths.  And when it’s been a while since I have eaten soups, I crave it like an addict, I must have it.

Lessons Learned

This brings an idea to mind which I believe I have heard before.  You crave what you eat.  If I can come to the point where I only eat (as my chiropractor says) “real food” as opposed to processed or junk foods, maybe I will stop craving junk foods.  The problem with that is my mind tells me that when I do something well, I deserve a reward:  food.  When I am stressed, bored, angry, depressed, etc., I need comfort:  food.  In addition to changing the cravings of my body, I need to change the cravings of my soul.  I suppose that would mean the more I read God’s Word, the more I will crave God’s Word.  Hmmm,  what an idea.  I think I will try that for a while — stop watching TV and read the Word of God.  Stop surfing the net and start searching for the face and favor of God.

When You said, “Seek My face,” My heart said to You, “Your face, LORD, I will seek.”  Psalm 27:8

Seek the LORD and His strength; Seek His face evermore!  Psalm 105:4

For am I now  seeking the favor of men, or of God? Or am I striving to please men? If I were still trying to please men, I would not be a  bond-servant of Christ. Galatians 1:20

Author: Terri Byars

I love to write. I have kept a journal since I was 13 years old. My hobbies are singing, reading, writing poetry, puzzles listening to Christian music, reading the bible. I have been a Christian since 1978. I have been married since 1986 and have two grown children and 4 grandchildren.

2 thoughts on “A New Me By 53 – Renewed Determination”

  1. I think you’d really like a book called “The Maker’s Diet.” It’s written by Jordan Rubin. He loves nutrition, and God even more. It’s got his testimony woven in so it’s not just a list of foods and technically named ingredients (though it is that too :P).

    I’ll pray for your dieting success. God bless. :}

    1. To David: Yes. I’ve scanned over that one when I saw it at a health food store. Like I said, “I have read all the different diet books and have all the answers on what is good to eat…I have the knowledge, but not the discipline to stick with a good, healthy diet.” Great book though. Thanks for the prayers.

Leave a Reply

