Psalm 84

We long for God.  He made us that way.  Like the song, “God shaped hole” by Plumb.  When we ask Christ into our lives, His spirit comes to live in our spirit.  We become the dwelling place of God’s Spirit.  Therefore, we our spirit is always satisfied.

 However, our soul still has longings.  The Christian life is a journey toward the goal of saturating our soul with His presence.  Although our spirit is always satisfied and filled with joy, peace, patience, etc., our soul is torn between the flesh and the spirit, between the world system and God.  Our soul still has to deal with our own longings, physically, mentally, emotionally, relationally, needs, desires, habits, financially, psychologically, and the list goes on.  I find that even though I am filled with joy in my spirit, my soul has a longing.  Sometimes this is hard to understand, but I feel that the cause may be in part because I are not fulfilling God’s plan for my life.  If I am bored, maybe it means I am not doing all God wants me to do.  If I feel lonely, maybe there is someone I have to forgive, a relationship that needs to be restored, or maybe it’s just because I need to create more relationships and meet more people.

God does supply all our needs; they are there always.  We just need to take them.  God doesn’t always just lay them in our lap.  Sometimes He wants us to take them.  Sometimes He wants us to find the treasures He has for us, like a parent hiding an Easter Basket and having their children look for them.  He won’t make us take His gifts.  He doesn’t force his goodness on us.  He offers it to us.  He hands it to us.  But we need to take it.  We need to claim possession and declare that it is ours.  We need to accept the gift.

The keys are:  one – asking.  “Ye have not because ye ask not.  Ask that you will receive and you joy may be full” (see John 16:23-26, Matt 7:7-8, and James 4:2-3).  John 16:26 says that Jesus won’t ask the Father for us.  That means we need to ask the Father for what we need.  Two – motives; are we asking for our own worldly pleasure, “Give me money so that I can spend it in me” or “Lord I’d like a new Mercedes”?

So, to sum up — The longings that we have are known by God.  It’s up to us to ask with the right motives.  And it is up to us to accept them, take them and receive them when he lays them before us.  And it is up to us sometimes to find it, to look for it when he says it is His plan for us.

Author: Terri Byars

I love to write. I have kept a journal since I was 13 years old. My hobbies are singing, reading, writing poetry, puzzles listening to Christian music, reading the bible. I have been a Christian since 1978. I have been married since 1986 and have two grown children and 4 grandchildren.

Leave a Reply

