Emotions of Life

emoticonsDuring our lives, we (especially women) go through many faces of emotion.  Throughout my times of strong emotional uprise, I have vented those emotions by writing poetry.  I have compiled those times into one larger poem called “From the Heart”.  You can read it  here.

I realize at the end of those emotions that Jesus is always the answer.  When we are happy, Jesus is the reason (John 10:10).  When we are sad, Jesus is the One to whom we can run(Matthew 11:28-30).  When we are angry, Jesus takes revenge for us (Romans 12:19). 

King David complained to the Lord a lot in the Psalms; however, at the end of most of those Psalms, he would exclaim something like “But God” or “And yet will I praise You”.  Sometimes he just talked to his soul and told himself to hope in God:

Ps. 42

1 As the deer pants for streams of water,
so my soul pants for you, my God.
2 My soul thirsts for God, for the living God.
When can I go and meet with God?
3 My tears have been my food day and night,
while people say to me all day long,

“Where is your God?”

4 These things I remember
as I pour out my soul:
how I used to go to the house of God
under the protection of the Mighty One
with shouts of joy and praise
among the festive throng.

5 Why, my soul, are you downcast?
Why so disturbed within me?
Put your hope in God,
for I will yet praise him,
my Savior and my God.

6 My soul is downcast within me;
therefore I will remember you
from the land of the Jordan,
the heights of Hermon—from Mount Mizar.
7 Deep calls to deep
in the roar of your waterfalls;
all your waves and breakers
have swept over me.

8 By day the LORD directs his love,
at night his song is with me—
a prayer to the God of my life.

9 I say to God my Rock,
“Why have you forgotten me?
Why must I go about mourning,
oppressed by the enemy?”
10 My bones suffer mortal agony
as my foes taunt me,
saying to me all day long,
“Where is your God?”

11 Why, my soul, are you downcast?
Why so disturbed within me?
Put your hope in God,
for I will yet praise him,
my Savior and my God.

No matter what our emotions are, we can rest assured that Jesus will be there for us.

 
Author: Terri Byars

I love to write. I have kept a journal since I was 13 years old. My hobbies are singing, reading, writing poetry, puzzles listening to Christian music, reading the bible. I have been a Christian since 1978. I have been married since 1986 and have two grown children and 4 grandchildren.

Leave a Reply

