Gratitude Series – Part 3 – His Presence

In this Gratitude Series, I am answering the question, “What has God ever done for me?” So many times I find myself living life according to my own power and ability. God gave me talents and abilities so I could live my life. But the abilities I have are not to take off with and take credit for all on my own. What he gives me I am to use for His glory and His will concerning myself and those around me. I want to be more grateful for all the things he gives me.

At Christmas time we are reminded of how God came to earth as a baby, born in a manger. He gave us His presence.

“In the beginning was the Word, and the Word was with God, and the Word was God. And the Word became flesh and dwelt among us, and we beheld His glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father, full of grace and truth.”
‭‭John‬ ‭1‬:‭1‬, ‭14‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

https://bible.com/bible/114/jhn.1.1-14.NKJV

“Then the angel said to them, “Do not be afraid, for behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy which will be to all people. For there is born to you this day in the city of David a Savior, who is Christ the Lord.”
‭‭Luke‬ ‭2‬:‭10‬-‭11‬ ‭NKJV‬‬

https://bible.com/bible/114/luk.2.10-11.NKJV

What Does His Presence Mean to Me?

His presence among us means a great deal. In part 1 and part 2 of this series, I stated that He gave me life, purpose, and an identity. He created me and has a purpose for my life. But He didn’t just created me and leave me to do the work on my own. He is with me always.

First, His presence in this world, His birth here on earth allowed us to see Him and He showed us the Father. He showed us how to live, love, and have life abundantly (see John 10:10).

Second, His presence brings joy. See Psalm 16:11. When I am in His presence, I am filled with joy. I cannot go through life on my own ability. I need to acknowledge His presence and realize He is with me so my joy will increase.

Third, His presence brings power (see Acts 1:8). When I call on Him, when I acknowledge his presence, He gives me the power and the ability to accomplish the tasks in front of me. What a great blessing. I can do all things through Him as long as I trust and lean on Him.

Fourth, His presence brings protection (see Ps. 34 and Ps. 91). What I need to remember here, though, is to pray and seek Him. I need to call upon Him and He will answer me and ‘deliver me from all my fears’ as Psalm 34 states.

Progressive List of What God Has Done and Still Does for Me:

  • 1. Created me
  • 2. Gave me a purpose
  • 3. Gave me identity
  • 4. Stays will me always
  • 5. Brings me abundant life
  • 6. Brings me joy in His presence.
  • 7. Gives me power to accomplish the tasks ahead of me.
  • 8. Gives me protection along the way.

Leave a comment